The National Medal of Technology and Innovation (NMTI), created by statute in 1980, is America’s highest honor for technological achievement. Administered by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Patent and Trademark Office and conferred by the President, the award recognizes individuals, teams, companies, or divisions of companies whose contributions preserve America’s leadership in global technology and economy innovation.

NC State Laureates

Joseph M. DeSimone – 2015

For pioneering innovations in material science that lead to the development of technologies in diverse fields from manufacturing to medicine; and for innovative and inclusive leadership in higher education and entrepreneurship. Dr. DeSimone holds joint faculty appointments at NC State’s Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering where he is the William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor, and UNC Chapel Hill’s Department of Chemistry where he is the Chancellor’s Eminent Professor in the Department of Chemistry.

Learn More

Joseph M. DeSimone

B. Jayant Baliga – 2010

For development and commercialization of the Insulated Gate Biopolar Transistor and other power semiconductor devices that are extensively used in transportation, lighting, medicine, defense, and renewable energy generation systems. Dr. Baliga is a Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Learn More

Jay Baliga,

Jerome J. Cuomo – 1995

For the discovery and development of a new class of materials — the amorphous magnetic materials — that are the basis of erasable, read-write, optical storage technology, now the foundation of the worldwide magnetic-optic disk industry. The medal was a team award for Cuomo and IBM colleagues Dick Gambino and Praveen Chaudhari for their discovery in 1972 while working at the T.J. Watson Research Center. Dr. Cuomo retired from IBM in 1993 and joined the faculty of NC State as Distinguished Professor of Research Materials Science and Engineering.

Learn More

Jerome J. Cuomo