GES Home
Give to GES
Give to GES

May 5, 2016 | Staff

NC State recognized 33 outstanding faculty members at the 2016 Celebration of Faculty Excellence on May 3.

The annual event honors faculty who have won prestigious state, national and international awards and accolades throughout the academic year.

During the event, Chancellor Randy Woodson presented five professors with the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence, NC State’s highest honor in recognition of faculty achievement.

This year’s honorees were:

Four NC State Board of Trustees members — Tom Cabaniss, Jimmy Clark, Susan Ward and Dewayne Washington — assisted in the presentation. The board of trustees established the Holladay Medal in 1992 in honor of the university’s first president. Each recipient has made outstanding contributions to the university in research, teaching, or extension and engagement.

Jeffrey A. Joines received the University of North Carolina Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching, the most prestigious teaching honor given to faculty at UNC System campuses. Joines, an Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor and associate department head in the Department of Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science, will be honored at NC State’s spring commencement on May 7.

Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Warwick A. Arden presented Joines with his award, and recognized the following honored faculty:

Rodolphe Barrangou receives a Gairdner International Award. Photo by Bill Baverstock.Rodolphe Barrangou receives a Gairdner International Award. Photo by Bill Baverstock.
Rodolphe Barrangou, winner of the Alpert Prize and the Canada Gairdner International Award

2016 marks the fifth year of the Celebration of Faculty Excellence. In recognition of all honored faculty, the university lit the Memorial Belltower red for the night.

This post was originally published in College of Sciences News.

Comments are closed.