Who We Are

The University Research Committee is the faculty’s voice to the research administration. The committee evaluates and advises on research-related issues and helps to identify emerging areas of interest or concern at NC State.


Current year schedule of meetings. See intranet (unity id required) for agendas.

Learn More

Current Members

Current committee members and their contact information.

Learn More

Research Calendar

All research committee meetings and other research events.

Learn More


Responsibilities of the Committee are to advise the Vice Chancellor for Office of Research and Innovation and to:

  1. Encourage and support the intellectual and research interests of the faculty;
  2. Evaluate and advise on research and administration policies and procedures and promote their continuous improvement;
  3. Evaluate and advise on consulting policies and practices and promote their continuous improvement;
  4. Inform the faculty on the availability of support for research and professional development, and to assist as it can in securing such support; and
  5. Recommend to the Vice Chancellor the allocations to be made from the Research and Innovation Seed Funding (RISF) Program.

2018-19 Meetings

  • August 15, 2018
  • September 26, 2018
  • October 17, 2018
  • November 14, 2018
  • December 19, 2018
  • January 16, 2019
  • February 20, 2019
  • March 20, 2019
  • April 17, 2019
  • May 15, 2019

2018-2019 Members

Faculty Members

Ex Officio Members

  • Richard Best, Research Integrity Officer, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Ruben Carbonell, Director, Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology & Science, Frank Hwakins Kenan Distinguished Professor, Chemical Engineering, COE
  • Wade Fulghum, Interim Executive Director, Office of Research Commercialization, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Genevieve Garland, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research Operations and Communications, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Marie Grubbs, Research Planning Manager, Research Development Office, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Peter Harries, Senior Associate Dean, The Graduate School
  • Jon Horowitz, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Research Infrastructure, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Laura Kroeger, Research Program Specialist, Research Operations, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Kina Morgan, RSC Chair, Director, College Research Administration, COT
  • Harry Perros, Faculty Senate Representative, Computer Science, COE
  • Matt Peterson, Director, Federal Research Affairs, Office of External Affairs, Partnerships and Economic Development
  • Pradip Pramanik, Director, Proposal Development Unit, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Sherrie Settle, Director of Sponsored Programs, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Justo Torres, Director, Contracts and Grants
  • Mladen Vouk, Vice Chancellor, Office of Research and Innovation

Need help with a research-related issue? Contact Us