Skip to main content

Research Operations Council

The Research Operations Council provides leadership for NC State's research endeavors.

Who We Are

The Research Operations Council (ROC), chaired by the Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation, provides leadership at the College and University level for NC State research endeavors. This body is comprised of Associate Deans for Research for each College, the Vice Chancellor’s senior staff, and the University Research Committee’s chair.


The ROC plays a strategic role in fostering the University’s research enterprise. This is achieved by identifying and pursuing growth opportunities, pinpointing areas of research excellence, facilitating cross-disciplinary and trans-institutional collaborations, and aligning local research efforts with institutional priorities.


  • Tom Birkland, Associate Dean, Research and Engagement, CHASS
  • Soolyeon Cho, Associate Dean, Research, COD
  • Peter Fedkiw, Interim Associate Dean for Research, Engineering
  • Karen Hollebrands, Associate Dean, Research, CED
  • Alexander (Lex) Kemper, Interim Associate Dean, Research, COS
  • Steve Lommel, Associate Dean, Research, CALS; Director, NC Agricultural Research Service
  • Robert Scheller, Associate Dean, Research, CNR
  • Joshua Stern, Associate Dean, Research, CVM
  • Richard Warr, Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs, COM
  • Xiangwu Zhang, Associate Dean for Research, COT
  • Alyson Wilson, Interim Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Ginger Burks Draughon, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Wade Fulghum, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Office of Research Commercialization, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Genevieve Garland, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Operations and Communications, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Jennifer Halbleib, Research Planning Manager, RDO, Office of Research & Innovation
  • Susan Ivey, Director, Research Facilitation Service
  • Lucian Lucia, Chair, URC, Professor, Biomaterials
  • Mary Millsaps, Director of Research Compliance, SPARCS
  • David Monks, Associate Director, NCARS, CALS
  • Barbara Moses, Associate Vice Chancellor and University Budget Director, Budget Office
  • Amy Orders, Senior Director, Emergency Preparedness and Strategic Initiatives, Environmental Health and Public Safety
  • Margery Overton, Vice Provost for Academic Strategy, Institutional Research and Planning
  • Matt Peterson, Director, Federal Research Affairs, Office of External Affairs, Partnerships and Economic Development
  • Behnam Pourdeyhimi, Associate Dean, Industry Research and Extension, COT
  • Pradip Pramanik, Director, Proposal Development Unit, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Mark Schmidt, Associate Vice Chancellor, Partnerships Office
  • Missy Thomas, Chair, Research Support Council
  • Justo Torres, Director, Contracts and Grants
  • Shawn Troxler, Deputy General Counsel