About us

Behavioral neuroscientists at NC State employ a wide range of species and experimental approaches to elucidate the mechanisms that underlie and modulate behavior.


Projects

Current research
There are four research areas, spanning across experimental and clinical neuroscience. We aim to inspire and cultivate researchers and educators at NC State. View the most current and exciting research today.

Slider image

When Neurons are ‘Born’ Impacts
Olfactory Behavior in Mice

Patisaul Lab NC State

Patisaul Lab
Establish if epigenetic marks in peripheral tissues reflect
epigenetic and phenotypic effects in brain.

placeholder image for slider

Visit our News section
for the latest in Neuroscience projects


Faculty

Dr. Veljko Dubljevic

Dr. Veljko Dubljevic

Assistant Professor
(Neuro)Philosophy & Science, Technology and Society
Office: Withers Hall 453
Phone: 919-515-6219
Email: veljko_dubljevic@ncsu.edu
Research Interests: Neuroethics; Neurophilosophy; Drug abuse and addiction; Drug regulation; Socio-Moral Decision Making and Autonomy in Dementia and Psychopathy.

Troy Ghashghaei, Ph.D

Associate Professor of Neurobiology
Department of Molecular Biomedical Sciences
Office: College of Veterinary Medicine
Phone: 919-513-6174
Email: troy_ghashghaei@ncsu.edu
Website: Faculty web page

Dr John R Godwin

Professor
Biological Sciences
Office: David Clark Labs 156
Phone: 919-513-2936
Email: john_godwin@ncsu.edu
Website: Faculty web page
Research Interests: Anxiety and stress

Dr B. Duncan X. Lascelles

Professor Small Animal Surgery and Pain Management
Department of Clinical Sciences
Office: Terry Companion Vet Med Center – 2556
Phone: 919-513-6762
Email: duncan_lascelles@ncsu.edu
Website: Lab web page
Research Interests: Pain; Central plasticity; Neurobiology of naturally occurring painful disease

Elizabeth Lucas, PhD

Elizabeth Lucas, PhD

Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
Department of Molecular Biomedical Sciences
Office: Research Building 344
Phone: 919-513-1885
Email: elizabeth_lucas@ncsu.edu
Website: Lab web page
Research Interests: Behavioral Neuroscience, Neural Circuits, Neuroendocrinology, Learning & Memory

Kurt Marsden

Kurt Marsden

Assistant Professor
Biological Sciences
Office: David Clark Labs 146
Phone: 919-515-2589
Email: kcmarsde@ncsu.edu
Website: coming soon
Research Interests: Behavioral genetics, neural circuit development and plasticity, mental illness

Santosh Mishra, Ph.D

Assistant Professor
Dept Molecular Biomedical Sciences, Neuroscience
Office: CVM Research Building 242
Phone: 919-515-2152
Email: skmishra@unity.ncsu.edu
Website: Faculty web page

Casey Nestor

Casey Nestor

Assistant Professor
Department of Animal Science
Office: Polk Hall 105
Phone: 919-515-5762
Email: ccnestor@ncsu.edu
Research Interests: Neuroendocrinology, sex differences, animal behavior & metabolic disorders

Natasha Olby

Dr Natasha J Olby

Professor (Neurology)
Dept of Clinical Sciences
Office: CVM Research Building 346
Email: natasha_olby@ncsu.edu
Website: Faculty web page

Dr. Heather B. Patisaul

Professor
Biological Sciences
Office: David Clark Labs 154
Phone: 919-513-7567
Email: hbpatisa@ncsu.edu
Website: Faculty web page
Research Interests: Endocrine disruptors, animal behavior, sex differences & neuroendocrinology

Dr Emilie Francesca Rissman

Professor
Biological Sciences
Office: Thomas Hall 3510
Email: e_rissman@ncsu.edu
Research Interests: Endocrine disruptors, sex differences, mental illness & obesity

Coby Schal

Dr Coby J Schal

Blanton J. Whitmire Distinguished Professor
Entomology & Plant Pathology
Office: Gardner Hall 3107
Phone: 919-515-1821
Email: coby_schal@ncsu.edu
Website: Faculty web page

Barbara L. Sherman

Dr. Barbara L. Sherman

Clinical Professor
Dept of Clinical Sciences
Office: CVM Main Building C289
Phone: 919-513-6141
Email: barbara_sherman@ncsu.edu
Website: Faculty web page
Research Interests: Fear, anxiety, aggression in dogs; Feline Immunodeficiency Virus in cats

Leslie Sombers

Leslie Sombers, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Analytical Chemistry, Biomedical Engineering
Office: Cox Hall 411B
Phone: 919-515-0320
Email: leslie_sombers@ncsu.edu
Website: Faculty web page
Research Interests: Drug abuse and addiction, vesicular fusion, exocytosis & novel microelectrode technologies and implementation strategies

Back to top