Skip to main content

University Research Committee

The University Research Committee is the faculty’s voice to the research administration.

Who We Are

The University Research Committee is the faculty’s voice to the research administration. The committee evaluates and advises on research-related issues and helps to identify emerging areas of interest or concern at NC State.


Responsibilities of the Committee are to advise the Vice Chancellor for Office of Research and Innovation and to:

  • Encourage and support the intellectual and research interests of the faculty;
  • Evaluate and advise on research and administration policies and procedures and promote their continuous improvement;
  • Evaluate and advise on consulting policies and practices and promote their continuous improvement;
  • Inform the faculty on the availability of support for research and professional development, and to assist as it can in securing such support; and
  • Recommend to the Vice Chancellor the allocations to be made from the Research and Innovation Seed Funding (RISF) Program.

Improve Your Social Interactions

Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor of Psychology Rupert Nacoste offers tips about how to interact well in neo-diverse America.


Faculty Members

  • Lucian Lucia, Chair, Professor, Forest Biomaterials and Chemistry, CNR
  • Ronald Baynes, Professor, Population Health and Pathobiology, CVM
  • Kathie Dello, Director, North Carolina State Climate Office, COS
  • Huiling Ding, Professor, English, CHASS
  • Mary Elting, Assistant Professor, Physics, COS
  • Tim Kraft, Associate Professor, Operations and Supply Chain Management, PCOM
  • Warren Jasper, Professor, Textile Engineering, Chemistry, WCOT
  • Gail Jones, Professor, STEM Education, CED
  • Lincoln Larson, Associate Professor, Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Management, CNR
  • Crystal Lee, Associate Professor, Teacher Education and Learning Sciences, CED
  • Deb Littlejohn, Associate Professor, Graphic and Industrial Design, COD
  • Ricardo Maggi, Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine, CVM
  • Kavita Mathur, Associate Professor, Textile and Apparel, Technology, WCOT
  • Susana Milla-Lewis, Associate Professor, Crop and Soil Sciences, CALS
  • Roger Narayan, Professor, Biomedical Engineering, COE
  • Omer Oralkan, Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, COE
  • Don Pagach, Professor, Accounting, PCOM
  • Gavin Smith, Professor, Landscape Architecture and Environmental Planning, COD
  • Anna Whitfield, Professor, Entomology and Plant Pathology, CALS
  • Laura Widman, Associate Professor, Psychology, CHASS

Ex Officio Members

  • Ruben Carbonell, Director, Kenan Institute for Engineering, Technology and Science, Frank Hawkins Kenan Distinguished Professor, Chemical Engineering, COE
  • Wade Fulghum, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Research Commercialization, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Genevieve Garland, Associate Vice Chancellor, Research Operations and Communications, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Kimberly Grainger, Associate Vice Provost, Academic Personnel and Policy, Provost
  • Jennifer Halbleib, Research Planning Manager, Research Development Office, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Peter Harries, Senior Associate Dean, The Graduate School
  • Jon Horowitz, Associate Vice Chancellor, Research Infrastructure, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Laura Kroeger, Research Program Specialist, Research Operations, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Holly Lipkovich, RSC Chair, Research Administration, Research Support Council, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Mary Millsaps, Director, Research Integrity Officer, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Barbara Moses, Associate Vice Chancellor, Budget and Resource Management
  • Harry Perros, Faculty Senate Representative, Computer Science, COE
  • Matt Peterson, Director, Federal Research Affairs, Office of External Affairs, Partnerships, and Economic Development
  • Pradip Pramanik, Director, Proposal Development Unit, Office of Research and Innovation
  • David Rainer, Associate Vice Chancellor, Environmental Health and Public Safety, Finance and Administration
  • Sherrie Settle, Associate Vice Chancellor, Sponsored Programs and Regulatory Compliance, Office of Research and Innovation
  • Missy Thomas, RSC Rep – Research Administration, Office of Research and Engagement/Office of Research and Innovation
  • Justo Torres, Director, Contracts, and Grants
  • Mladen Vouk, Vice Chancellor, Office of Research and Innovation