The Research Leadership Academy (RLA), established in FY2016, is the faculty-driven epicenter of research leadership and faculty mentoring enhancing NC State’s research culture. The RLA is composed of the University’s most outstanding researchers and mentors from diverse fields; members are selected on their records of and active engagement in research and mentoring of faculty. The RLA is charged with the development and advocacy of best research and administrative practices for the development of the diverse research faculty at NC State. Membership in the Academy is lifetime as long as the member is associated with NC State with a commitment of active service to the Academy for a minimum of three years. Members are expected to take an active role in promoting the research enterprise across campus by leading activities such as seminars, research and leadership education programs, and mentoring programs for faculty. The goals of the RLA are to encourage a culture of mentoring across campus, empower faculty for success, and advance an intellectual, multidisciplinary research community and the best administrative practices.

University Research Symposium

The goal of the University Research Symposium is to introduce research scholars to each other, and to promote opportunities for new partnerships. Participants from faculty across campus are encouraged to attend to learn more about your colleagues and find new ways to address important research problems. The University Research Symposium will be held Thursday, March 21st from 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Learn More


Current Members

  • Harald Ade, Distinguished Professor, Physics
  • Marie Davidian, William Neal Reynolds Professor, Statistics
  • Fred Gould, William Neal Reynolds Professor of Agriculture, Entomology
  • Gail Jones, Distinguished Graduate Professor, STEM Education
  • Y. Richard Kim, Jimmy D. Clark Distinguished University Professor, Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
  • Trudy Mackay, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished University Professor, Biological Sciences
  • Chris McGahan, Professor, Molecular Biomedical Sciences
  • Greg Parsons, Alcoa Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Ronald Sederoff, Professor, Forestry & Environmental Resources
  • Laurie Williams, Professor, Computer Science
  • Walt Wolfram, William C. Friday Distinguished Professor, English

Research Events

View Detailed List with Links | View on Google Calendar | Add An Event

  • Aug

    Time: 11:30 am - 1:00 pm
    Location: James B. Hunt Jr. Library, Duke Energy Hall A, 1070 Partners Way, Raleigh, NC 27606, USA